Eight Preludes, Op. 34 for Tenor and Bass Trombone

"The  Twenty-Four Preludes for Piano, Op. 34, come from a particularly fertile and important period in Shostakovich's life...squarely between his opera Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District and his Piano Concerto No. 1 in C minor, Op. 35...The Twenty-Four Preludes traverse all of the major and minor keys...I have chosen eight Preludes, four each from major and minor keys, that successfully survive the transition from piano to a two-voice format and comminicate a wide range of musical and emotional ideas. By arrangeing them for tenor and bass trombone, I have been able to preserve the wide voicing so characteristic fo Shostakovich's piano and chamber music..."

- Douglas Yeo, arranger of Eight Preludes, Op. 34

solo parts included: tenor/bass trombone score

SKU: 073999828788
Weight: 0.45 lb

Product Information

Main Category: